Skip to main content

Project Team – Working Groups and Contact Information

View contact info below this list.

Project Co-Directors                                                                         
Walter DeJong
Amy Charkowski
Stewart Gray

Diagnostic Group – Amy Charkowski (Group Leader)
Amanda Gevens
Stewart Gray
Neil Gudmestad
Phil Hamm
Alex Karasev
Chris McIntosh
Phil Nolte
Phil Townsend
Guiping Yan
Nina Zidack

Resistance and Breeding Group – Walter DeJong  (Group Leader)
Chuck Brown
David Douches
Ken Frost
Neil Gudmestad
Shelley Jansky
Alex Karasev
Joe Kuhl
Chris McIntosh
Rich Novy
Hanu Pappu
Mark Pavek
Jonathan Whitworth

Epidemiology – Russ Groves (Group Leader)
Andrei Alyohkin
Chris Benedict
James Dill
Jim Dwyer
Ken Frost
Chris McIntosh
Silvia Rondon
Erik Wenninger

Tuber Quality – Nora Olsen (Group Leader)
Paul Bethke
Neil Gudmestad
Phil Hamm
Deb Inglis
Alex Karasev
Chris McIntosh
Mark Pavek
Jonathan Whitworth

Project Co-Directors


Walter DeJong
Associate Professor, Cornell University
Potato Breeder
wsd2@cornell.edu


Stewart Gray
Research Plant Pathologist, USDA-ARS, BioIPM
Courtesy Professor, Cornell University
Plant Virologist
smg3@cornell.edu


Amy Charkowski
Department Head and Professor, Colorado State University
Plant Pathologist
Amy.Charkowski@ColoState.edu

Co-Principle Investigators


Andrei Alyohkin
Professor, University of Maine
Entomologist
alyokhin@maine.edu


Chris Benedict
Extension Specialist, Washington State University Extension
cchrisbenedict@wsu.edu
Website: http://whatcom.wsu.edu/ag


Paul Bethke
Associate Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Molecular Biologist, Post-Harvest Physiology
paul.bethke@ars.usda.gov
Website: https://bethke.horticulture.wisc.edu/


Chuck Brown
Research Geneticist, USDA-ARS, Prosser, WA
Potato Breeder
chuck.brown@ars.usda.gov


James Dill
Extension Associate Program Administrator, University of Maine
Pest Management Specialist
james.dill@maine.edu


Dave Douches
Professor, Michigan State University
Potato Breeder
Website: http://potatobg.css.msu.edu/index.shtml
douchesd@msu.edu


Jim Dwyer
Crops Specialist, University of Maine
jimdwyer@maine.edu


Ken Frost
Assistant Professor, Oregon State University
Extension Plant Pathologist
kenneth.frost@oregonstate.edu


Amanda Geven
Associate Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Plant Pathologist
Website: http://www.plantpath.wisc.edu/wivegdis/


Russ Groves
Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Extension Specialist, Entomologist
groves@entomology.wisc.edu
Website: http://labs.russell.wisc.edu/vegento/


Neil Gudmestad
Distinguished Professor, North Dakota State University
Plant Pathologist
neil.gudmestad@ndsu.edu
Website: https://www.ndsu.edu/potato_pathology/


Phil Hamm
Professor Emeritus,  Oregon State University
Station Director, Plant Pathologist
philip.b.hamm@oregonstate.edu
Website: http://oregonstate.edu/dept/hermiston/


Deb Inglis
Professor, Washington State University
Extension Plant Pathologist
dainglis@wsu.edu


Shelley Jansky
USDA/ARS, Research Geneticist
Professor, Department of Horticulture, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Potato Breeder
shelley.jansky@ars.usda.gov
Website: https://janskylab.horticulture.wisc.edu/


Alex Karasev
Professor, University of Idaho
Plant Pathologist/Virologist
akarasev@uidaho.edu


Joe Kuhl
Associate Professor, University of Idaho
Plant Molecular Geneticist, Potato Breeder
jkuhl@uidaho.edu


Chris McIntosh
Professor, University of Idaho
Agricultural Economist
mcintosh@uidaho.edu


Phil Nolte
Extension Seed Potato Specialist, University of Idah0 (retired)
pnolte@uidaho.edu


Rich Novy
Research Geneticist, USDA-ARS, Aberdeen, ID
Potato Breeder
Rich.Novy@ars.usda.gov


Nora Olsen
Professor, University of Idaho
Plant Biologist
norao@uidaho.edu


Hanu Pappu
Distinguished Professor, Washington State University
Plant Virologist
hrp@wsu.edu


Mark Pavek
Associate Professor, Washington State University
Potato Specialist
mjpavek@wsu.edu


Silvia Rondon
Professor, Oregon State University
Extension Entomologist
Silvia.Rondon@oregonstate.edu


Kylie Swisher
Research Associate, USDA-ARS, Prosser, WA
Plant Pathologist
kylie.swisher@ars.usda.gov 


Erik Wenninger
Associate Professor, University of Idaho
Entomologist
erikw@uidaho.edu


Jonathan Whitworth
Research Plant Pathologist, USDA-ARS, Aberdeen, ID
Jonathan.Whitworth@ars.usda.gov


Guiping Yan
Assistant Professor, North Dakota State University
Plant Pathologist/Nematologist
guiping.yan@ndsu.edu


Nina Zidack
Director, Montana Seed Potato Certification Program
Montana State University
nzidack@montana.edu
Website: http://www.montanaspud.org/

Skip to toolbar