Skip to main content

Discovery that Connects

From fundamental insights to better plants, sustainably grown, serving the world

2016 SIPS Recognition & Awards

Kathy Howard (35 years)
Ed Cobb (35 years)

The 2016 SIPS Recognition & Awards Reception was held on October 28 to recognize staff receiving service awards for their years of work and faculty receiving recognition for contributions to their fields.

Congratulations to all awardees, with special recognition to Ed Cobb and Kathy Howard for their 35 years of service!

2015-2016 Staff Service Awards

5 years of service

Steve Gabriel (Hort)
Kathi Colen Peck (Hort)
Heather Scott (Hort)
Sean Moriarty (PBG)
Sara Carpenter (PPPMB)
Scott LaGreca (PPPMB)
Leah Cook (SIPS)

10 years of service

Louise Gray (Hort)
Brett Welch (Hort)
John Shiffer (PBG)
Judith Kolkman (PPPMB)
RJ Richtmyer (SCS)
Jeni Wightmann (SCS)

15 years of service

Anna Stalter (PlantBio)
Jamie Crawford (PBG)
Yen Mei Cheung (awarded in Geneva) (PPPMB)
Dennis Lawrence (PPPMB)
Linda D’Amato (SIPS)
Kari Richards (SIPS)

20 years of service

Dawn Moser (SCS)
Max Welcome (SIPS)

30 years of service

Jim Ballerstein (Hort)
Kevin Maloney (Hort)
Jon Shaff (PlantBio)
Elaine Davis (SIPS)

35 years of service

Ed Cobb (PlantBio)
Kathy Howard (SIPS)

Faculty Awards and Recognition


  • Susan Brown – Wilder Award from the American Society for Horticultural Science (ASHS) (read more)
  • Frank Rossi – Named Man of the Year by the New York State Turfgrass Association (NYSTA) (read more)
  • Larry Smart – Promotion to full professor
  • Hannah Swegarden – 2016 Future Leaders in Science Award from the American Society of Agronomy (ASA), Crop Science Society of America (CSSA) and Soil Science Society of America (SSSA) (read more)
  • Tom Whitlow – Selected as a Frank Rosenblatt Faculty Fellow for his longstanding and deep commitment to the Hurlburt Residential College for Environmental Education and Awareness (read more)
  • Kenong Xu – Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (read more)

Plant Biology

Plant Breeding and Genetics

  • Mike Gore – Early Career Excellence in Maize Genetics Award from the Maize Genetics Executive Committee (read more)
  • Michael Mazourek –  Cap Creal Editorial Journalism Award from the NYS Agricultural Society: “to inspire more coverage of the positive aspects of agriculture in NY State” and Grist 50 2016 “The 50 People You’ll Be Talking About in 2016” “Meet the innovators, organizers, and visionaries who will lead us toward a more sustainable future, in the coming year (and beyond).” (read more)
  • Susan McCouch: Crop Science Society of America Presidential Award
  • Mark Sorrells: Crop Science Society of America Research Award
  • Steve Tanksley: Japan Prize (read more)

Plant Pathology and Plant-Microbe Biology

Soil and Crop Sciences

  • Toni DiTommaso – Excellence in IPM award from the New York State Integrated Pest Management (NYS IPM) Program (read more)
  • Janice Thies – Fellow of the Soil Science Society of America and of the American Society of Agronomy


Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar