

# THE SIBLEY SCHOOL OF MECHANICAL & AEROSPACE ENGINEERING

The following awards were announced at the MAE Graduation Ceremony on Sunday, May 24, 2015

#### McManus Design Award

Undergraduate and Graduate students in M&AE: Judgment criteria based on a technical paper of single or joint authorship presenting an original solution to a design problem or project.

Peter Baggaley: NSF Biped III Robot: Hip Design, Research with Professor Andy Ruina

#### R.N. Janeway Automotive Engineering Award

Juniors, Seniors and Graduate students in M&AE and ECE: Judgment criteria based on a technical paper of single or joint authorship presenting an original proposal for an improvement in automotive vehicles.

Joseph Durante; Marlon Rainville: Active Aerodynamics, Research with Professor Albert George

#### The Bart Conta Prize in Energy and the Environment

*Undergraduate and Graduate students in M&AE:* Award based on project summaries from students who have done the best work on a research or design project dealing with energy and the environment.

Camelia Hssaine; Mark Romanelli; Xiyue Zhang:

Tompkins County Energy Roadmap, Research with Professor K. Max Zhang

#### The Thomas J. and Joan T. Kelly Prize

Seniors and M.Eng. students in M&AE. Award based on excellence in aerospace engineering, as demonstrated through coursework or an innovative design project. The awardee must show tangible evidence of being a well-rounded person with an outstanding non-engineering contribution to Cornell and/or the greater community.

Amanda Steckel: Lunar Regolith Rocket, Research with Professor Mason Peck

### The Silent Hoist and Crane Company Prize

Established in 1950 for the purpose of stimulating the thinking of engineering students with aptitude or special interest in the art and science of Material Handling.

David Hartino: <u>Small Bolt Pretensioner</u>, Research in conjunction with ASML and advised by Professor Stuart Leigh Phoenix

#### Sibley School Excellence in Graduate Teaching Assistant Prize

**Ph.D. Candidates in M&AE:** Judgment criteria based on recommendations by student feedback and endorsed by instructors. For their dedication and excellence as a teaching assistant in Sibley School courses.

Jordon Chipka David Kemmenoe

#### The H.D. Block Teaching Prize

**Ph.D. Candidates in the TAM Field:** Judgment criteria will be based on recommendations by student feedback and endorsed by instructors. For their dedication and excellence as a teaching assistant in Engineering Mathematics and Engineering Mechanics.

**Amy Englebrecht-Wiggins** 

## Frank O. Ellenwood Prize

Graduating Seniors: Awarded to the M.E. students with the highest GPA in heat and power courses.

Jesse Miller Alexander Semaca

#### The Walter Werring Excellence Studies Prize

*Graduating Seniors:* Awarded to graduating students in 2015 who have enhanced the Cornell Community, excelling in leadership efforts in a manner befitting the reputation of the Sibley School.

Hiu Fat Tse Nina Buchakj

#### The Sibley School Senior Class Speaker

On behalf of the B.S., M.E. Class of 2015, **Sonia Luther** has been selected for the honor of presenting a speech at the Sibley School Commencement Ceremony.

On behalf of the B.S., M.E. Class of 2015, **Charles Zhang** has been selected as the recipient of The Sibley Outstanding Senior Award, for his strong leadership efforts for the Cornell Chapter of the American Society for Mechanical Engineers.

# The following awards were decided in early June

# **Outstanding Achievement Award**

**M.Eng. in M&AE:** Awarded to two graduating students who have achieved the highest academic standing in the Master of Engineering Program.

Jason Fitzgerald Katie McQuade

#### The Sibley Prize

Graduating Seniors: Awarded to two M.E. undergraduate students with the highest overall GPA.

Jesse Miller Alexander Semaca