Skip to main content

Safety Committee Information

Two safety committees exist within the Physical Sciences Complex.  While each committee serves to represent the safety interests of their specific discipline, the committees work in tandem to  assure that a safe and healthy learning, research and work environment exists for faculty, staff, students, and visitors to Complex spaces.  To this end, the committees evaluate proposed research, review accident and incident summaries, advise member departments and individual researchers and promulgate policies on matters related to safety in research and teaching.

The Chemistry and Chemical Biology Safety Committee  is comprised of department faculty.

Committee Membership 2019

Tristan Lambert (Chair)

Phillip Milner

Cynthia Kinsland

Keane Leitch

Dave Neish


The Physical Sciences Safety Committee (PSSC) is comprised of representatives from the Lab of Atomic and Solid State Physics (LASSP), the Physics department, Applied and Engineering Physics (AEP), the Lab of Elementary-Particle Physics (LEPP) and the Cornell Center for Materials Research (CCMR).

Committee Membership 2020

Physics/ LASSP

Dan Ralph (Chair)

Craig Wiggers (Physics Department Administrator)

Sara Eddleman (LASSP Department Administrator)

Eric Banta

Mark Lory-Moran


Meghan Whitman (AEP Department Administrator)

Jon Velazquez

Greg Fuchs


John Sinnott


Dwight Widger

Facilities Management

Keane Leitch

Todd Pfeiffer