Principle Investigator:
Prof. James R. Engstrom (

James R. Engstrom is currently a professor in the School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Cornell University. Since 2002 he has also been a member of the Graduate Field of Chemistry and Chemical Biology. Prof. Engstrom is the recipient of numerous awards, including, in 1991, a NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, the Lilly Endowment Teaching Fellowship in 1995, as well as 2 College of Engineering Teaching Awards. In 2005 he was made a Fellow of the American Vacuum Society. From 1998 to 2001, he worked for Symyx Technologies, where he was vice president of high-throughput screening and electronic materials. Presently, Prof. Engstrom’s research is focusing in two areas: inorganic-organic interfaces, and organic thin film electronics. He is actively engaged in research that seeks to build robust interfaces between organic thin films/monolayers and inorganic (dielectric or metallic) thin film overlayers. He earned a B.S. degree in chemical engineering from the University of Minnesota and a Ph.D. degree in chemical engineering from the California Institute of Technology.

Graduate Students:

Taewon Suh (
Degree Program: CBE PhD
Project: Investigating mechanisms involved in area selective deposition using ALD
Hobbies: Basketball, movies, traveling

Colleen Lawlor (
Degree Program: CBE PhD
Project: Studying ALD in real time using a quartz crystal microbalance for area selective deposition
Hobbies: Soccer, cooking, hiking

Vidyesh Madhyastha (
Degree Program: MSE MS
Project: Investigating area selective deposition using ALD
Hobbies: Swimming, table tennis, cooking

Yen-Hsiung Wang (
Degree Program: CBE MS
Project: Studying area selective deposition using ALD
Hobbies: Badminton, dancing, YouTubing


Pengyuan Zhao, MS 2020 (ASM)

Hugh Bullen, PhD 2020 (Intel)

Hae Won Sohn, MS 2018 (ISE PhD Student, Texas A&M)

Jiun-Ruey Chen, PhD 2017 (Intel)

Rambert K. Nahm, PhD 2016 (Intel)

Wenyu Zhang, PhD 2015 (Applied Materials)

Edward R. Kish, PhD 2014 (RSR Technologies)

Tushar V. Desai, PhD 2011 (Intel)

Kevin J. Hughes, PhD 2011 (Lubrizol)

Sugandha Bhargava, MS 2008 (Bayer Technology Services)

Manish Sharma, PhD 2008 (Intel)

Abhishek Dube, PhD 2006 (Applied Materials)

Jared L. Mack, MS 2006 (U.S. Department of Energy)

Aravind S. Killampalli, PhD 2005 (Intel)

Paul F. Ma, PhD 2004 (ASM International)

Todd W. Schroeder, PhD 2003 (Lam Research)

Peter Cheng (Yongjun Zheng), PhD 2000 (Semitronix)

Andrew M. Lam, PhD 2000 (QuSwami)

Sam E. Roadman, PhD 1999 (Cree)

Martha E. Jones, PhD 1997 (Intel)

Nirmalya Maity, PhD 1996 (Applied Materials)

Li-Qun Xia, PhD 1995 (Applied Materials)

Michael J. Furjanic, MS 1993 (Intel)